Depending on the kind of speeding ticket you got, if the ticket doesn’t require you to appear in court, you are able to pay your ticket fines online, by mail, by phone, or personally. The state of Illinois uses a point system for traffic violations. And if you have been pulled over for speeding by a State Trooper, you may have been told the same thing. If someone is killed while speeding, reckless homicide charges are possible. If you are convicted of speeding 1 to 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, you are facing a maximum fine of $120. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as. Illinois’s speeding law prohibits driving “at a speed which is greater than is reasonable and proper with regard to traffic conditions and the use of the highway, or endangers the safety of any person or property.”. Have in mind that the Illinois courts will decline ignorance as a defense. If you have been charged for reckless driving in Illinois, get in contact with the Law Offices of Andrew Nickel so you can decide how to handle your situation. traffic court, Our firm works with families every day, let us protect you from speeding tickets in Illinois. Reckless driving is generally a misdemeanor. Tagged as: This becomes a crime because the chances of injuring another person increase at these high rates of speed. You should note that paying the fine is considered an admission of guilt, and the offense will go on your driving record. You don’t have to agree with the officer’s evaluation. That is the same penalty as domestic battery, theft, or driving under the influence. There are less serious misdemeanor crimes in Illinois, such as Class B and C offenses. Under a new law in Illinois, speeding 35 MPH over the posted limit is a Class A misdemeanor. The amount you’ll wind up paying in increased insurance rates is a lot more irritating – and more costly – because it continues month after month. It provides the following: A person who drives a vehicle upon any highway of this State at a speed that is 35 miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit established under this Chapter or a local ordinance commits a Class A misdemeanor. The punitive nature of the vehicle code section on speeding developed a few years ago. Attention: This article was originally published April 01, 2014. The minute the law enforcement officer approaches your vehicle, your defense against speeding charges starts. Speeding in Illinois can be expensive. To make a long story short, the Chicago Tribune exposed how traffic court judges were going too soft on drivers caught speeding over 100 MPH. This would mean you can goto jail for up to 6 months, be charged $1,500, plus court costs. Illinois has set fines that scale with the speed at which you’re caught. Chicago Tribune, If you are convicted of 3 or more offenses that lead to points being assigned within a year, your driver’s license will be suspended. If you don’t adhere to the court supervision requirements or if you get another moving violation ticket within 90 days of when the court supervision was allowed, the offense will appear on your driving record. Driving too slowly on a highway can earn you 5 points. See 92 Illinois Administrative Code 1040.30(b). -30 miles per hour on most urban roads. If you are not an American Citizen, this could affect your status here. If you are convicted of speeding 21 to 25 miles per hour over the speed limit, you will be facing a maximum fine of $140. But now the speed at which a person can be criminally charged is even lower. speeding, Drive too fast and you might go to jail. But, with the right attorney, you may be able to avoid jail and a criminal record. There are less serious … If you have been charged for a misdemeanor in Illinois, seek the help of qualified and aggressive lawyers like the ones at the Law Offices of Andrew Nickel. If you are caught speeding in a work zone, you’ll get a minimum fine of $375 and a mandatory appearance in court. Drivers who are cited under this statute are required to retain legal counsel. The issue drew a lot of attention, and Illinois politicians eager for re-election took notice. However, it can be a felony if the driver has previous DUI convictions, or the offense includes injuries or death. The variety of points assigned to your license depends on the seriousness of the offense. 15 miles per hour in an alley. Between 15 and 30 mph over: An adjudication (a finding of guilt), a fine (which should be listed on the back of the ticket, in a separate hand out or you can call the Clerk of Court and ask), and four (4) points on your driving record. But, it’s a felony if the suspension is because of the conviction for vehicular homicide. 625 ILCS 5/11-601.5(b), The Tribune also uncovered that drivers who were responsible for fatal accidents had multiple violations in the past. Speeding 21-30 miles per hour over the limit will likely lead to a fine of around $140. speeding 35 mph over the limit, Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. For example, Illinois’s absolute speed limits include: A speeding violation might lead to a reckless driving conviction, depending on the circumstances. I handle these cases all the time. You can also assist your lawyer in building your defense. The legislature decided to toughen up the laws on speeding. For example, fines in school zones and work zones are higher. Laws in Illinois can be tricky, schedule a risk-free consultation today. The information has since been reviewed for accuracy and is up-to-date as of December 2019. Traffic court judges require people to hire an attorney because they want to have the right to sentence the offender to jail if the circumstance justify such a sentence. For squealing or screeching tires, 10 points are assigned to your license. If you’ve gotten an Illinois speeding ticket or multiple speeding tickets, you may need an attorney’s assistance to help you avoid points on your license or costly fines. Driving 26 to 34 miles per hour over the limit is considered a Class B misdemeanor and can bring approximately 6 months in prison and a maximum of $1,500 in fines. For example, speeding, which is typically a violation, can become a misdemeanor if a person drives more than 80 miles per hour or goes beyond the speed limit by 20 miles per hour or more. not eligible for supervision, 30 miles per hour; and 2. Speeding 26 mph or more over the posted speed limit is often referred to as Aggravated Speeding or Excessive Speeding. A misdemeanor rises to a felony for subsequent convictions or if the offense includes home or property damage, injuries, death, or other aggravating aspects.